Recognizing the societal importance of studies in the field of solar-terrestrial physics and willing to give credit to scientists who contribute significantly to these studies and to SCOSTEP activities, the SCOSTEP Bureau has instituted the following awards:

SCOSTEP Distinguished Science Award – To recognize an outstanding contribution of a scientist to solar-terrestrial physics.

SCOSTEP Distinguished Young Scientist Award – To young scientists who have achieved considerable success in solar-terrestrial physics and have taken an active part in SCOSTEP-related activities.

SCOSTEP Distinguished Service Award – To recognize unique contributions to SCOSTEP-related activities, to realization of its programs and events.

SCOSTEP Fellows (formerly Honorary Members) – To persons who have made sustained and/or high-impact contributions to the science of solar-terrestrial physics and/or to SCOSTEP and its scientific programs, selected by the Bureau.

The SCOSTEP awards are given biennially. The first Distinguished Science Awards were awarded in 2014. They are awarded in even years. The first Distinguished Service Award was given in 2013. These awards are made in odd years.

Call for Nominations for the 2023 SCOSTEP Distinguished Service Award  DEADLINE was APRIL 15, 2023

Awards Statute and Procedures

SCOSTEP Fellow Program Statute and Procedures

SCOSTEP Fellows (formerly Honorary Members)
  • Joe Haskell Allen
  • Sir Granville Beynon*
  • Prof. Archana Bhattacharyya
  • Prof. K. D. Cole
  • Dr. Herbert Friedman*
  • Prof. C. de Jager
  • Prof. C. -H. Liu
  • Prof. T. Nagata*
  • Dr. Andrei I. Orsin
  • Prof. J. G. Roederer
  • Dr. Z. Svestka
  • Prof. Nicole Vilmer
  • Dr. D. J. Williams


Distinguished Service Awards
  • 2021: Dr. Franz-Josef Lübken For unique and meritorious service to SCOSTEP activities and interests at an international level, which have visibly influenced outreach and high-level research in solar-terrestrial physics.
  • 2020: Dr. Sunanda Basu – For selfless service over nearly three decades towards promoting SCOSTEP science, together with promoting, encouraging, and recognizing the talent in solar terrestrial science across the globe.
  • 2017: Prof. Marvin A. Geller – for his substantial and unique contributions to various SCOSTEP programs through his leadership roles in them and his immense service to the Solar-Terrestrial Physics community as a leader of institutions and a mentor of many students.
  • 2015: Dr. Bridgitte Schmieder – for her immense and unique contributions to SCOSTEP activities, and towards realization of its programs and events and for her outstanding leadership and long service, spanning several decades, within the SCOSTEP community.
  • 2013: Joe Haskell Allen – for his selfless service in supporting SCOSTEP programs. This service covers virtually all aspects of SCOSTEP activities, including serving as Scientific Secretary for 12 years and for his outstanding contributions to the solar-terrestrial community over nearly four decades.
  • Sidney Allan Bowhill – Prime Mover of the Middle Atmosphere Program resulting in important new middle atmosphere research in many nations of the world
  • Edward R. Dyer* – fifteen years of outstanding work and enduring dedication to IUCSTP/SCOSTEP as Scientific Secretary
  • Vladimir Vasilyevich Migulin* – leadership and his many outstanding services to the Solar-Terrestrial Physics Community
  • Alan H. Shapley – outstanding support of SCOSTEP scientific programs by the establishment and operation of data services fundamental to Solar-Terrestrial Physics
  • Paul A. Simon – outstanding services to the Solar Maximum Year in coordinating space and ground-based experiments
  • Michael J. Teague – outstanding services to the International Magnetosphere Study through the IMS Satellite Situation Center
  • James I. Vette – outstanding services to the International Magnetosphere Study in establishing the IMS Satellite Situation Center


Distinguished Science Awards
  • 2022: Prof. David McComas – For original research, technical leadership and wide-ranging discoveries that have significantly advanced
    our knowledge and understanding of the global structure and evolution of the solar wind and revolutionized our understanding of its interactive stellar medium.
  • 2020: Prof. Quigang Zong – For breakthroughs in identifying particle acceleration mechanisms and in unifying fundamental magnetic structures in space plasmas, and for many significant contributions to space physics for over 25 years.
  • 2018: Prof. Jeffrey M. Forbes
  • 2016: Prof. Sami K. Solanki
  • 2014: Prof. Gordon G. Shepherd

Distinguished Young Scientist Awards

Past Calls for Nominations